Matt Ambrogi

Recurse Center Weekly Recap #9

I'm going to keep this one short.

Last Week

Last week I focused on two things:

  1. Getting into a few weeks of tinkering with machine learning projects
  2. Starting to practice algorithms problems everyday.

I made a good bit of progress.

On the ML front:

On the algorithms front:

This coming week

I only have three weeks left at RC. I have a lot left that I want to tackle and I'm excited to continue diving in.

This coming week I have three goals:

  1. Continue daily algorithms practice. I want to not just do problems, but focus on learning underlying patterns.
  2. Wrap up my x-ray classification app. My focus here is improving the model's performance metrics.
  3. Start and finish one more model development project. I am going to do this by entering a Kaggle competition. I'm particularly interested in NLP and am planning to do a competition aimed at training a model which can identify real Tweets about natural disasters. I think the general pattern of 'is this chunk of text about x?' is an interesting one.

And that's all. After I wrap this up I'll reflect and jump into another project. If I'm really enjoying the ML work, I could see doing another project there. Otherwise, I'll probably jump into something with Go or Solidity - which are the last two languages I really want to get a taste of before picking one area to dive into a meatier project with.